Posted on 19 Jun 2011 - Go back to news list
The La Courneuve Flash (France) win the 2011 French Championship!

Last Saturday, the Flash of La Courneuve became the greatest football team in France by winning their 9th national title.

In front of 7,000 spectators in Paris, the Parisian team beat the Centaures of Grenoble, the surprising team of this season. Promoted from Division 2 at the end of last season, the Centaures qualified for this final. Maybe frozen by their inexperience, the attendance or the stake, the Centaures were picked as soon as the kick off did.

Quickly the Flash scored 2 TDs by rush (RB Laurent Marceline after 1 reception and 4 rush) and by pass (WR Thomas Lapios) and led 28-07 at the 1st half.

The Canadian QB from the Centaures, Charles-Antoine Sinotte (McGill ’10) had less influence on the game than during previous games. The Flash started their turnover by opening the bench and monitored the 2nd half. The Centaures tried to come back thanks to 2 TDs (scored by the surprising WR Anthony Dable and Paul Braisaz) in this final but failed. The good mechanic of Flash led by the Head Coach Cam Olson was stronger for them. The final score of 45-27 for the Flash demonstrated an opening and offensive game.

For this final, 2 MVP were named …
-MVP Offense : Lyle Moevao (QB, Flash, former player from OSU, 12-17- 190 yards, 2 TDs)
-MVP Defense : Foad Adjir (DB, Flash, a national player who played in NFLE, 1 TD scored on RKO of 80 yards).

During the half time, 2 players were honored :
-Charles-Antoine Sinotte (QB, Centaures, statistics for regular season : 173-275-1 992 yards, 24 TDs, 6 INT and 418 rushing yards for 6 TDs ) earned the best import player Trophy (called as “Trophée Chris Flynn”)
-Jérémy Larroque (WR, Templiers, statistics : 978 receiving yards for 14 TDs, 105 rushing yards and 1 TD) earned the best national player Trophy (called as “Trophée Laurent Plegelatte” … the name of creator of football in France).

The Flash of La Courneuve is qualified to the next Eurobowl and the Centaures for the EFAF Cup.

This final was broadcasted on the French TV channel Orange Sport (re-broadcast on the sport channel Eurosport 2).

Link to see the game:

Sent by Florian Thiery